Subscribe to our RSS Feed

Knockhill BSB: Laverty runs away with race two

Laverty was untouchable after half-race distance
Laverty was untouchable after half-race distance

Image by Double Red

Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty lifted the winner's trophy in this afternoon's second British Superbike encounter at Knockhill, taking the lead from Tommy Hill on lap 12 to pull away and take maximum points.

The Irishman proved he was just too strong on the brakes into the hairpin, first going past Shane Byrne on lap 11 into the Scotsman before going under reigning champion Hill into the final corner and never looking back. He also takes home the Steve Hislop Trophy for the fastest lap of the weekend.

Once Laverty had make his break, it was down to race one winner Byrne and Hill for the podium spots. Byrne also used the hairpin to take second away from the Surrey man who didn't have an answer and has also closed in on him at the top of the championship chase, leapfrogging Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes

The Australian had another solid ride for fourth place to match his first-race result while, behind him, James Westmoreland had a race-long scrap for fifth place with Supersonic BMW's Tommy Bridewell but the Yorkshireman came out on top after making a break late on.

Alastair Seeley finished in a lacklustre seventh ahead of the WFR pairing of Alex Lowes and Graeme Gowland while Ian Lowry, who started brightly but was struggling for rear grip, slipped back to tenth place but picks up useful points.

Noriyuki Haga suffered another spill and Michael Rutter also slipped off at the Hairpin. Chris Walker retired for a second time.

Click here for results

Championship points

Tommy Hill 159
Shane Byrne 153
Josh Brookes 150
Michael Laverty 122
Ian Lowry 79
Tommy Bridewell 77

BSN Shop in association with and B&C Express