Subscribe to our RSS Feed

Oulton BSB: Hill dominates qualifying to take pole

Hill is in ominous form this weekend
Hill is in ominous form this weekend

Image by Double Red

Qualifying three
Tommy Hill 1'35.742
Josh Brookes 1'36.014
Ian Lowry 1'36.271

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill dominated the MCE British Superbike qualifying session at Oulton Park this morning, dominating all three sessions to finish three-tenths of a second ahead of Josh Brookes on the Tyco Suzuki while Ian Lowry put in a fast last lap to bag third place.

Hill was the only rider to drop into the 1'35s bracket, although Brookes ran him close. Lowry, on the Padgett's Honda, did enough to drop Shane Byrne off the front row as he jumped ahead of both the Kent man and Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty, who finished fourth.

Brookes' team-mate Alastair Seeley finished in sixth, Peter Hickman rode a blinder to take seventh with James Westmoreland in eighth. Tristan Palmer got up from a second-session crash to take ninth while tenth goes to Jon Kirkham who didn't make it out for the finale.

Qualifying two
Tommy Hill 1'36.085
Shane Byrne 1'36.521
Michael Laverty 1'36.589

Hill appeared to be able to put in 1'36.0 laps at will and was half a second faster than Byrne and Laverty, who found some pace in the second session to go quicker than Brookes, while Westmoreland was the fastest of the WFR boys in fifth.

Team-mate Alex Lowes didn't get out because he crashed right at the end of the first period and his bike was too badly damaged to continue but the Lincolnshire man was unhurt in the spill. Kirkham just made it through by the skin of his teeth after suffering a breakdown while Noriyuki Haga was dumped into the drop zone by a lap from Hickman after having to throttle off due to spotting rain.

Noriyuki Haga
Luca Scassa
Keith Farmer
Barry Burrell
Chris Walker
Michael Rutter
Tommy Bridewell
Gary Mason
Graeme Gowland

Qualifying one
Tommy Hill 1'36.097
Alex Lowes 1'36.759
Shane Byrne 1'36.866

Hill blasted to the top of the session one sheets, going more than six-tenths faster than the pack with Lowes and Byrne in the runner-up spots while Brookes trailed in fourth. Westmoreland hauled himself up to fifth ahead of Lowry after being in the pits with only a couple of minutes left to run. Lowes had a late crash and his technicians had a rush to get his bike ready for the next part.

Mason saved himself from the drop with his final lap, finishing in 19th place and his time was enough to see Luke Quigley go into the drop zone. Rutter at precariously in 20th place but just made it through while Farmer, on his first proper run in British Superbikes, put in a sterling effort to get a mid-table finish. Jenny Tinmouth, David Anthony and Abdulaziz Binladin all crashed unhurt.

Luke Quigley
Mark Aitchison
Patric Muff
Scott Smart
Freddy Foray
Aaron Zanotti
John Laverty
Florian Marino
David Anthony
Tom Tunstall
Jenny Tinmouth
Abdulaziz Binladin

Click here for times

BSN Shop in association with and B&C Express