Dunlop, Martin and Farquhar head Southern 100 entry list

The all-action Michael Dunlop in TT 2012 action
The all-action Michael Dunlop in TT 2012 action Picture: Tony Goldsmith

Michael Dunlop, Guy Martin and Ryan Farquhar top an all-star entry list for the upcoming 2012 Southern 100, set to in the second week of July.

The trio will race along with a host of top class riders fans are guaranteed some spectacular racing during the four days of action around the 4.25-mile course.

William Dunlop on the Wilson Craig Hondas will be one of many who will be hoping to claim the premier prize of the meeting, the Manx Gas Solo Championship as will Guy Martin’s team-mate at Tyco Suzuki, Conor Cummins.

Also in with a shout are Dan Kneen, Roy Richardson, Michael Pearson, Davy Morgan and Paul Cranston to name but a few. The 13-race programme has attracted no less than 32 Newcomers to ‘the friendly races’ as the event has become known over the years.

Dean Harrison, Gavin Lupton and James Cowton are three regulars from Oliver’s Mount who should be ‘at home’ around Billown whilst Ulstermen Stephen McKnight and Seamus Elliott are also likely to impress. In the Lightweight classes close rivalry will ensue between Chris Palmer, William Dunlop and Ian Lougher along with Phil Harvey, Nigel Moore and Tom Snow.

Full grids are the order of the day for the Sidecars with previous Champions Ian and Carl Bell heading the list although they certainly wont have an easy time with former world champions, Ben and Tom Birchall and Tim Reeves with former champion passenger Dan Sayle in the chair along with Conrad Harrison and Mike Aylott all aiming to take the coveted title.

Another former champion passenger returns, as a driver - Darren Hope has Paul Bumfrey in the chair. Greg Lambert and Roy Hanks are two other winning drivers who are back in action at Billown for the umpteenth time.

The 2012 Steam Packet Southern 100 International Road Races get underway on Monday evening 9th July, with Roads Closing at 6.05pm until no later than 9.40pm. Tuesday 10th and Wednesday 11th at the same times and Championship Day, Thursday 12th July between 9.50am and 12.15pm then 1.00pm until 5.45pm at the latest.

Share this story: