Thruxton BSB: Johnson claims Superstock 1000 win

Johnson can not contain his excitement
Johnson can not contain his excitement Picture: Impact Images

Four Anjels Racing’s David Johnson claimed first place in the Pirelli National Superstock 1000 championship in an incident filled race at Thruxton circuit.

The race was cut short because of a red flag on the tenth lap, which involved three bikes. The crash happened at Allards and was believed to have been caused by a damp patch on the track. Rapido Sport Racing, Irishman Lee Johnston fell first, followed by Swedish rider ILR Kawasaki’s Filip Backlund, with Wilcock Consulting rider Dan Stewart quickly following suit. As there were only six laps remaining the race came to an abrupt stop, and David Johnston was declared the victor.

Johnson did have a battle on his hands throughout the race, as Steve Brogan Racing rider Steve Brogan and SMT Racing’s Adam Jenkinson were not far behind, and were trying to make it difficult for the Kawasaki rider. The pack of three eventually pulled away from the rest of the grid and the lead changed numerous times around the Thruxton circuit.

On lap seven Jenkinson took the lead, with Brogan quickly following suit. But it was not enough to keep Johnson at bay, and the rider managed to lead until the red flag reared its ugly head. Jenkinson eventually claimed second place, followed by Brogan who found himself on the final step of the podium.

JG Speedfit Kawasaki Racing’s Joe Burns had a solid race, and during the final laps managed to catch up to join the party of Johnson and the rest of his posse, but the red flag put a stop to his plans. RAF Reserves Racing Simon Andrews did lead from the start, but found himself on the grass on lap two, which put a massive dent on his podium hopes, and ended the race in sixteenth.

Team Green G&S Racing Jonathan Howarth rounded off the top five, followed closely by ILR Kawasaki’s Victor Cox and Buildbase BMW Motorrad rider Lee Jackson. It was also a consistent race for American rookie Team WD40’s Tommy Aquino who finished tenth overall.

Click here for times

Share this story: