Silverstone BSB: Farmer takes dramatic Supersport win

Farmer was clearly pushing very hard en route to victory number eight
Farmer was clearly pushing very hard en route to victory number eight Picture: Impact Images

Appleyard Macadam Racing’s Keith Farmer bagged his eighth Dickies British Supersport win of the year after a last lap move around the outside of Gearlink Kawasaki’s Andrew Irwin.

Farmer and Irwin broke clear at the front of the race, joined by German born Aussie Ben Currie. The trio swapped places lap after lap, all getting a chance to lead at one point in what was an enthralling race.

With three laps to go Irwin moved ahead of Farmer at Village before Farmer lunged back at him at the Loop with the pair clashing together, allowing Currie to hit the front.

Farmer regrouped and eventually hit the front with two to go, but Irwin wasn’t finished himself.

With a lap to go Farmer lead, with Currie and Irwin following closely. Irwin slipped past Currie before then forcing his way to the front with half a lap to go.

The trio went down the Wellington Straight for the last time and Irwin moved to the inside to block any move from Farmer. However, the Clogher Bullet brilliantly rolled around the outside of Irwin at Brooklands before then blocking off any come back from Irwin at Luffield.

The pair were side by side through Woodcote before crossing the line with Farmer taking the chequered flag by just 0.045 of a second.

Currie had to settle for third, just 0.176 of second adrift of the race winner. Flying Finn Eemeli Lahti ended fourth, ahead of Matt Truelove and a disappointed Jack Kennedy who couldn’t convert pole position into a challenge for the win.

McAMS Yamaha’s Arthur Sissis crossed the line in seventh before the top ten was rounded out by David Allingham, Kurt Wigley and Ryan Dixon.

Click here for results

Share this story:

Add your comment