Assen BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo - Bikesport News

Assen BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

Picture: Impact Images

Facts, statistics and pub ammunition for the Assen Bennetts British Superbike Showdown opener

Assen sees the start of the 2019 British Superbike Championship Showdown, the tenth year the Showdown has formed part of the Championship.

Since 2010, the Championship leader going into the Showdown has gone on to win the title on six out of the nine occasions.

Going into this year’s Showdown, Josh Brookes leads Scott Redding by three points, the smallest gap since 2016 when the gap between Leon Haslam and Shane Byrne was also three points.

This is the ninth year Josh Brookes has contested the Showdown with Peter Hickman and Tommy Bridewell contesting it for the third and second times respectively.

Scott Redding, Tarran Mackenzie and Danny Buchan are all contesting the Showdown for the first time.

Josh Brookes took his 46th career BSB win last time out at Oulton Park to go joint third on the all-time list with Leon Haslam.

This is the eighth consecutive year the British Superbike Championship has visited Assen with all eight years seeing it host a round of the Showdown.

Assen has held 14 BSB races so far with those races having seen seven different winners and 17 different riders stand on the podium.

Leon Haslam (5) has won the most BSB races at Assen and is followed by Josh Brookes (3), Shane Byrne (2) and Alex Lowes, James Ellison, Josh Waters and Sylvain Guintoli (all 1).

The double race win at Assen has been achieved on three occasions – Josh Brookes (2015) and Leon Haslam (2016 and 2018)

Shane Byrne has the most podiums at Assen, with 7, followed by Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam (both 6), James Ellison (5), Alex Lowes and Ryuichi Kiyonari (both 3) and Tommy Bridewell (2).

The closest winning margin at Assen was in the second race of 2016 when Leon Haslam beat Shane Byrne by 0.010s.

The biggest winning margin came in the second race of 2013 when James Ellison beat PJ Jacobsen by 9.283s.

Leon Haslam scored the most points at Assen in 2018 with 50 followed by Peter Hickman (29), Josh Brookes (27), Glenn Irwin (24), Jake Dixon (20) and Tarran Mackenzie (16).

Out of the other Showdown contenders, Tommy Bridewell and Danny Buchan both scored ten points.

Danny Buchan has never finished higher than ninth in a BSB race at Assen.

The quickest ever lap at an Assen BSB meeting was set by Jake Dixon who set a time of 1m35.579s in Q2 in 2018.

The lap record at Assen was set last year by Leon Haslam with a time of 1m36.330s.

Kawasaki have the most BSB wins at Assen with 7 followed by Suzuki and Yamaha (both 3) and Honda (1).

Kawasaki have won five out of the last six races at Assen.

Kawasaki’s last win at Assen came in 2018 with Leon Haslam

Suzuki last won at Assen in 2017 with Sylvain Guintoli.

Yamaha last won at Assen in 2015 with Josh Brookes did the double.

Honda last won at Assen in 2013 with Alex Lowes.

Ducati and BMW have never won a BSB race at Assen.

Share this story: