Brands BSB finale: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo - Bikesport News

Brands BSB finale: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

Picture: Impact Images

The Brands Hatch GP circuit has hosted at least one round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship every year since 1997 with the exception 2000 when both rounds took place on the shorter, Indy circuit.

That equates to a total of 66 BSB races – in that time there have been 20 different race winners and 43 different podium finishers.

Leon Haslam’s first ever BSB victory came on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2004 when riding for Renegade Ducati.

Haslam’s lead of 61 points over Jake Dixon is the greatest advantage any rider has ever had coming into the final round of the Showdown.

Conversely, the battle for the Rider’s Cup has never been closer going into the final round with just 15 points covering Jason O’Halloran (7th), Tarran Mackenzie (8th), Christian Iddon (9th), Danny Buchan (10th) and Tommy Bridewell (11th).

Since returning to BSB in 2016, Haslam has failed to win on the Grand Prix circuit.

In 2012, Shane Byrne won all five races held on the GP circuit and four out of five in 2017. Josh Brookes also won four out of the five races in both 2013 and 2015.

Shane Byrne has the record number of wins on the GP circuit with 19 followed by Josh Brookes (12), John Reynolds (5) and Steve Hislop, Leon Haslam, Gregorio Lavilla and Leon Camier (all 3).

Byrne also has the most number of podiums (30) followed by Brookes (19), James Ellison (14), Haslam (10), Reynolds and Michael Rutter (both 9) and Ryuichi Kiyonari, Tommy Hill and John Hopkins (all 7).

Brookes has won three of the last five races on the Brands GP circuit.

Brookes took the double victory in July this year with Glenn Irwin finishing second in each race and Haslam doing likewise in third.

Brookes scored the maximum 50 points in July followed by Irwin (40), Haslam (32), Jake Dixon (26), Christian Iddon (21) and Peter Hickman and Danny Buchan (both 16).

The current lap record was set in July in 2017 by Josh Brookes, the Australian recording a time of 1’24.873s, 103.21mph.

The fastest lap ever recorded around the Brands Hatch GP was by Shane Byrne who recorded a time of 1’24.163s during Q3 in October 2017.

Ducati have the most wins on the Brands Hatch GP circuit with 19, followed by Kawasaki and Yamaha (15), Suzuki (10), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Yamaha did the double in July earlier this year with Josh Brookes.

Ducati, with Byrne, won four of the fives races held on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2017.

Kawasaki last won on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2016 with Shane Byrne.

BMW’s last victory on the Brands Hatch GP circuit was in 2015 with Michael Laverty.

Suzuki’s last win on the Brands GP circuit came in 2014 with Josh Waters.

Honda’s last victory was back in 2011 with Shane Byrne.

Share this story: