Cadwell BSB: Brookes pips Bridewell to second race win - Bikesport News

Cadwell BSB: Brookes pips Bridewell to second race win

Picture: Impact Images

Be Wiser Ducati’s Josh Brookes scooped his sixth Bennetts British Superbike win of the season after fending off Tommy Bridewell and Danny Buchan, while series leader Scott Redding crashed out.

The Australian was locked in a three-way battle for much of the race before breaking away and beating Oxford Ducati’s lone threat, but it was his team-mate who lost out big style with nil points.

Pole-sitter Bridewell shot into the lead ahead of Brookes and race one winner FS-3 Kawasaki’s Buchan with local man Hickman chasing in fourth, but Jason O’Halloran had an immediate setback as he soared over the grass at Charlie’s and had to rejoin in last place.

The leading trio, race one’s podium finishers, soon began stretching a gap, but it was fisticuffs further back as Scott Redding and Andrew Irwin’s race came to an end after tangling at the exit of Charlie’s Two.

And it was trouble further back as Bikedevil’s Gino Rea pulled in after troubles with his MV following a run in 13th.

Back at the front, Bridewell was pulling a slight advantage over Brookes and Buchan, but the chasers soon reeled him back in and by half distance, they were all back together.

With six laps to go, Brookes finally showed his hand as he sliced up the inside of Bridewell at the entry to Park, but the Devizes rider never let him get too far ahead and as the laps wound down, it was a two-way fight for the win with Buchan dropping back to a lone third.

And despite Bridewell’s late efforts, he couldn’t find a way through on the Aussie and Brookes took the laurels to move into the championship lead.

Tyco BMW’s Christian Iddon held off Smith’s man Hickman by just a few tenths to snatch fourth, while Iddon’s team-mate Glenn Irwin and RAF Regular and Reserves’ youngster Ryan Vickers bagged sixth and seventh.

Buildbase Suzuki’s Luke Stapleford crossed the line eight, while team-mate Bradley Ray crashed out of 12th at Hall Bends on the final lap, leaving Honda’s Xavi Fores and OMG Suzuki’s stand-in Billy McConnell to complete the top 10.

Click here for times

Share this story: