Cadwell BSB: Durham takes Motostar lead as Whatley scores first win

| | BSB Support
Picture: Bonnie Lane

Asher Durham launched into the HEL Performance British Motostar series lead this weekend after splitting the spoils with maiden winner Josh Whatley.

But it was previous championship leader Brandon Paasch who missed out big style with two crashes and zero points, relinquishing his advantage in the tables.

GA Competition’s Victor Rodriguez got the better of pole-sitter Dan Jones in race one as the Spaniard led the early five-way scrap, but after American Paasch dumped his FPW KTM with just a lap in the bag, it was a three-way fight as Whatley and the leading duo broke away.

It looked to be Rodriguez’ to lose as he led almost the entire race, but after Whatley had moved into second at half distance, he pounced with less than a lap remaining to steal victory from the former Standard class champ as Jones followed them home for third.

Back in the Standard battle, it was Premium Motorhomes’ Scott Ogden who ran away with the win some six seconds clear of Cameron Horsman as the latter held on by a hair to take second from Franco Bourne and Charlie Farrer.

In race two on Sunday, Rodriguez again grabbed the early lead with Jones and Whatley in tow, but it wasn’t long before Jones hit the front at Coppice on lap two.

Rodriguez hit back at Park, but Jones was straight back up the inside at Mansfield just moments before Paasch’s race was once again over as he high-sided at the Chicane.

Just before half distance, Durham, who had tagged onto the front-runners, sneaked through on City Lifting rider Jones as he set about pursuing Rodriguez.

Moments later, however, Rodriguez binned his KTM at the entry to Coppice after tangling with another bike, leaving Durham and Jones to hit the front and Whatley to slot into third a half second behind.

But with less than two laps remaining, Jones hit the deck at Mansfield and ended his chances of victory as Durham took over the lead.

And despite Whatley’s final advances, Mahindra rider Durham held on by 0.186s to take victory as Scott Swann scooped third some 1.7s behind.

After a race-long battle in the Standard ranks, Ogden pipped Horsman by just 0.053s for the win while Bourne held off Farrer by an almost identical margin to snag third.

Click here for times