Cadwell BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo - Bikesport News

Cadwell BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

Picture: Impact Images

Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammunition for the Cadwell Park Bennetts British Superbike round:

Cadwell Park has held a round of the MCE British Superbike Championship every year since 1996, a total of 49 races.

Two meetings were held at the venue in 2010 with a triple header taking place at the second meeting held that year.

The 49 races have seen 22 different race winners and 38 different riders stand on the podium.

With victory in race two at Thruxton, Andrew Irwin became the 52nd rider to win a British Superbike Championship race.

Victory also ensured that, along with elder brother Glenn, they are now the first siblings to win BSB races.

Irwin also became the 77th rider to stand on a BSB podium.

Six riders have now won races in the 2019 British Superbike Championship season.

Third place in race two at Thruxton saw Peter Hickman become the tenth rider to stand on the podium this year.

Jason O’Halloran will make his 125th BSB start in race one at Cadwell Park.

Josh Elliott will make his 25th BSB start at Cadwell Park, also in race one.

Luke Stapleford is due to make his 25th BSB start in race two at the Lincolnshire venue.

Leon Haslam has the record number of wins at Cadwell Park with nine followed by Tommy Hill (6), Chris Walker, Steve Hislop and Josh Brookes (all 4) and James Whitham, Michael Rutter, Shane Byrne, Alex Lowes and James Ellison (all 2).

Peter Hickman took his first BSB career win at Cadwell Park in 2014. It was also the first BSB victory for the RAF Regular & Reserve team.

Tommy Bridewell also took his first career BSB win at Cadwell Park in 2014.

Shane Byrne has the most number of podiums (14) at Cadwell Park followed by Leon Haslam (9), Michael Rutter and Tommy Hill (both 9), John Reynolds, Chris Walker, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Josh Brookes (all 8) and Michael Laverty (7).

Brookes hasn’t finished on the podium at Cadwell Park since 2015 when he took both race wins with 2018 seeing him pick up just six points, his worst meeting of the year.

As well as Brookes, the double has been done at Cadwell Park on ten other occasions – James Whitham (1996), Chris Walker (1998), Steve Hislop (2001 & 2002), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2006), Leon Haslam (2008 and 2018), Tommy Hill (2011 & 2012) and Alex Lowes (2013).

Leon Haslam scored the most points (50) in the two races held in 2018 followed by Bradley Ray (40), Jake Dixon (32), Glenn Irwin (24), Peter Hickman (22) and Christian Iddon (20).

Cadwell Park last year was the last time Bradley Ray stood on the BSB podium.

The current lap record was set in race two in 2017 when Lee Jackson lapped at 1’26.478s, 90.75mph on the Smiths Racing BMW.

Bradley Ray set pole position in 2018 with a lap of 1m26.152s.

Yamaha are the most successful manufacturer at Cadwell Park with 14 wins followed by Ducati (13), Honda (12), Kawasaki (7) and Suzuki (3).

Kawasaki won both races in 2018 through Leon Haslam.

Yamaha’s last victory at Cadwell Park was in 2017 with James Ellison. This is also when the Kendal rider last won a race in BSB.

Ducati last won at Cadwell Park in 2016 with Shane Byrne.

Honda’s last win at Cadwell Park came in 2014 with Peter Hickman.

Suzuki last win at Cadwell Park was in 2010 with Tommy Hill.

BMW have never won a BSB race at Cadwell Park.

Share this story: