Donington BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo - Bikesport News

Donington BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

This time last year, Brad Ray was the boy...
This time last year, Brad Ray was the boy... Picture: Impact Images

Here is a selection of statistics, facts and pub argument starters ahead of this weekend’s Bennetts British Supebrike round at Donington Park:

Donington Park has hosted at least one round of the British Superbike Championship every year since the inaugural season in 1996, with the exception of 2010 when no round was held.

Donington has hosted 58 BSB races which have seen 20 different race winners and 41 different riders stand on the podium.

2019 will see the 1.9-mile Donington Park National circuit used for a BSB meeting for the first time since 2002.

The top three in 2002 were Shane Byrne, Steve Plater and Steve Hislop in race one and Michael Rutter, Byrne and Simon Crafar in race two.

The BSB lap record currently stands at 1’09.184s, 101.84mph and was set by James Haydon in 2000.

Victory for Byrne in 2002 was his first ever in the British Superbike Championship.

Byrne has subsequently won more BSB races (8) at Donington than any other rider and is followed by Niall Mackenzie and John Reynolds (both 6) and Chris Walker, Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Leon Haslam (all 4).

Bradley Ray took his first BSB victory at Donington last year when he went on to take the double.

Seven out of the last eight years have seen double victories taken at Donington – John Hopkins (2011), Josh Brookes (2012), Alex Lowes (2013), Kiyonari (2014), Byrne (2016), Haslam (2017) and Ray (2018).

Out of the 2019 field, only three riders have previously won BSB races at Donington – James Ellison, Brookes and Ray (all 2).

Reynolds and Byrne have taken the most podiums (16) at Donington followed by Haslam (12), Walker (10), Mackenzie and Steve Hislop (both 9) and Rutter, Haydon, and Kiyonari (all 8).

Ray won both races in 2018 – the other podium finishers were Byrne and Ellison (race one) and Haslam and Dan Linfoot (race two).

The third place finishes for Ellison and Linfoot were the last time they stood on a BSB podium.

Fifth place in race one at Donington last year was Luke Mossey’s best result of the season.

Peter Hickman will make his 300th BSB race start in the second race at Donington.

Andrew Irwin will make his 25th BSB race start in race one at Donington.

Former MotoGP rider Hector Barbera will make his BSB debut at Donington.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Donington Park with 25 wins followed by Yamaha (11), Suzuki (8), Kawasaki (7), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Suzuki last won at Donington in 2018 with Ray.

Kawasaki last won at Donington in 2017 with Haslam.

Ducati last won at Donington in 2016 with Byrne.

BMW were last victorious at Donington in 2014 when Kiyonari won both races.

Lowes’ double victory in 2013 is the last time Honda won at Donington.

Ellison gave Yamaha their last victory at Donington in 2009.

Share this story: