Knockhill BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo - Bikesport News

Knockhill BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

Picture: Impact Images

Race weekend statistics, facts and pub argument ammunition for the Knockhill Bennetts British Superbike round, you lucky people:

Knockhill has held a British Superbike Championship round every year since 1996.

45 races have been held in that time and those races have seen 18 different race winners whilst 34 different riders have stood on the rostrum.

At 1.2669 miles, Knockhill is the shortest track used by the BSB Championship in 2019.

It also has the shortest lap with the current lap record, set last year, held by Leon Haslam at 47.462s, 96.10mph.

Josh Brookes has never won a race at Knockhill and hasn’t finished on the podium since 2015. Along with the Donington National circuit, this is the only circuit currently on the BSB calendar at which he hasn’t won.

The last win at Knockhill by a non-UK rider was Ryuichi Kiyonari in 2014.

Dan Linfoot will make his 200th BSB start in the opening race at Knockhill.

Danny Buchan’s only podium finishes in 2018 were at Knockhill when he finished third in each race.

14th place in race one last year was Tarran Mackenzie’s worst race finish of 2018.

Shane Byrne has taken the most wins at Knockhill with 11 followed by Niall Mackenzie (5), Ryuichi Kiyonari (4), John Reynolds, Leon Haslam and Jake Dixon (all 3) and Tommy Hill, Leon Camier, Jonathan Rea and Chris Walker (all 2).

The double has been done at Knockhill on no less than 12 occasions, the riders being Niall Mackenzie (1996 and 1998), Chris Walker (2000), John Reynolds (2001), Shane Byrne (2003, 2013 and 2015), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2005), Jonathan Rea (2007), Leon Camier (2009), Tommy Hill (2011) and Jake Dixon (2017).

Byrne also has the most podiums (19) followed by Kiyonari (10), Leon Haslam (8), Josh Brookes, Steve Hislop, Michael Rutter, John Reynolds and Chris Walker (all 7) and Niall Mackenzie and Sean Emmett (all 6).

Kawasaki (13) have won the most races at Knockhill followed by Yamaha and Ducati (both 10), Honda (7), Suzuki (4) and BMW (1).

Kawasaki have won the last four BSB races at Knockhill and ten of the last 12.

Kawasaki also filled all of the podium positions in 2018.

Ducati’s last win was in 2016 with Shane Byrne.

BMW’s only win at Knockhill came in 2014 with Ryuichi Kiyonari. This was also the last year they were on the podium.

Honda last won at Knockhill in 2012 with Michael Laverty.

Yamaha’s last race wins at Knockhill were taken in 2011 by Tommy Hill.

Suzuki’s last win at Knockhill was with Tom Sykes in 2008.

No-one currently on the BSB grid has ever won a race at Knockhill.

Share this story: