MotoGP Catalunya: Quartararo continues stunning form for second pole in 2019

| | MotoGP

Petronas Yamaha SRT MotoGP rider Fabio Quartararo brushed off his recent surgery to secure his second pole position of 2019 with a stunning 1:39.484 around the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Coming into the afternoon session after finishing second fastest through the combined free practice times, Quartararo was considered one of the favourites for pole alongside Alex Rins and Marc Marquez.

However, it was Quartararo’s Petronas Yamaha SRT team-mate Franco Morbidelli who found himself fastest after the initial run of laps, from the Frenchman.

As the second series of laps got underway, it was Maverick Vinales who took the pole position from Mobidelli by just 0.001 seconds. Vinales’ time at the top didn’t last more than 30 seconds, before the Frenchman took the top spot with his stunning lap.

Despite the best efforts of Marquez, Quartararo held on for his second pole position of 2019 in just seven rounds.

Marc Marquez could only manage second place on his factory Repsol Honda. Following Valentino Rossi on his best lap, Marquez hoped to reel the Italian in to snatch the pole position from Quartararo. Despite being over two tenths up through the first sector, a huge slide through turn four prevented him from improving, leaving him having to settle for second.

Vinales rounded out the front row, holding onto the spot from Morbidelli by the smallest of margins, 0.001, with the Italian failing to improve on his first run lap time.

Valentino Rossi will be happy to be starting from the middle of the second row, meaning the four Yamaha’s all find themselves in the top five, with Andrea Dovizioso next up in sixth position.

Danilo Petrucci suffered a small, slow speed crash on an in lap, leaving him in seventh position. Alex Rins was another crasher on his Suzuki GSX-RR, leaving him down in eighth place. The Spaniard crashed at turn nine before he could post a fast lap on his second run. Cal Crutchlow was ninth on his LCR Honda, rounding out the third row.

Jorge Lorenzo will start from tenth on his factory Repsol Honda, with Joan Mir and Pol Espargaro rounding out the top four rows.