MotoGP Misano: Suzuki holds off McPhee for emotional victory - Bikesport News

MotoGP Misano: Suzuki holds off McPhee for emotional victory

SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda rider Tatsuki Suzuki held off John McPhee and Tony Arbolino for an emotional win at the home circuit of his Paolo Simoncelli team in Misano.

Starting from the pole position at his second ‘home’ race, the Japanese rider started from the pole position and got off the line well, leading the pack into the first corner despite pressure from World Championship challengers Lorenzo Dalla Porta and Aron Canet.

Suzuki’s life was made a little easier after Canet’s KTM packed up on just lap four, leaving him out of the race, despite multiple efforts to restart his bike. Back at the front, Suzuki led for the majority of the race, this is in the face of constant pressure from Arbolino, Jaume Masia and Andrea Migno.

Going into the final laps, Suzuki continued his perfect ride out front, holding off Arbolino. The lead group had reduced to five, and that soon became three when Migno hit the rear tyre of Arbolino in turn eight. He then lost the front of his KTM and unfortunately collected Ai Ogura who was on the outside of him.

This promoted McPhee to third and the Scot lined up Arbolino before moving inside the Italian at turn eleven and lined up Suzuki. The Japanese rider however took fourteen defensively and held off both McPhee and Arbolino for his first ever Moto3 win.

Masia was the best of the rest in fourth place, getting the better of Dalla Porta on the final lap. It was a missed opportunity for the Italian who crossed the line fifth but ended up being awarded eighth position after a three second penalty for exceeding track limits was added after the race.

Despite this, Dalla Porta’s lead has grown to 22 points over Canet after the Spaniard’s DNF, whilst Arbolino’s podium keeps him in the mix, just eight points further back.

Dennis Foggia was promoted into fifth place at the expense of Dalla Porta, with Gabi Rodrigo and Marcos Ramirez also benefitting from his time penalty in sixth and seventh respectively. Filip Salac was ninth with Raul Fernandez rounding out the top ten.

Stefano Nepa was eleventh in his home race, with Jakub Kornfiel, Andrea Migno, Riccardo Rossi and Elia Bartolini rounding out the point scorers, with Deniz Oncu the only finisher not to pick up a World Championship point in sixteenth position.

Share this story: