MotoGP Mugello: Race weekend facts, statistics and pub ammo - Bikesport News

MotoGP Mugello: Race weekend facts, statistics and pub ammo

Race weekend facts, statistics and pub ammunition for the Mugello MotoGP race weekend:

Following Le Mans, Marc Marquez leads the MotoGP World Championship with 95 points, equalling last year at this stage of the season.

This is the highest score for a rider leading the championship after the opening five races since 2015 when Valentino Rossi (102 points) led Jorge Lorenzo.

Marc Marquez’ win at Le Mans is the eighth successive win for a Spanish rider in the premier class at the track.

Andrea Dovizioso’s second place in France was the 95th time he was on the podium in Grand Prix racing, equalling five-time World Champion Mick Doohan who is in 12th place on the list of riders with most podium finishes.

In addition, it was Andrea Dovizioso’s 54th podium finish in the premier class, equalling Randy Mamola and four less than Max Biaggi, who is in 10th place on the list of riders with most podium finishes in the class.

Danilo Petrucci was on the podium for the seventh time in his Grand Prix career, equalling Andrea Iannone and Jorge Lorenzo in fourth place on the list of Ducati riders with most podium finishes in MotoGP behind Casey Stoner (42), Andrea Dovizioso (32) and Loris Capirossi (23).

Eight different riders have already been on the podium after the opening five races of the season, one less than at this stage of the 2018 season.

Jack Miller crossed the line in fourth place as the third Ducati rider in France, which is the second time there have been three Ducati riders within the top four since the introduction of the MotoGP class in 2002; the other being Turkey in 2007 with Casey Stoner winning the race, Loris Capirossi in third and Alex Barros in fourth.

Jack Miller is now leading the Independent Team riders’ classification with 42 points ahead of Cal Crutchlow, who is tied with Franco Morbidelli on 34 points.

Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all the classes at Mugello, with a total of nine victories; one each in 125cc and 250cc classes to add to his seven successive MotoGP wins (2 x Honda and 5 x Yamaha), the last of which came in 2008.

Neither of the two Yamaha factory riders have won at least one of the five opening races for the second successive year. The last time the Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP team did not have a win in any of the first five races of the year in two successive seasons was in 2002 and 2003.

Following the French GP, Yamaha have scored 78 points in the Constructor’s World Championship classification, which is the lowest points accumulated after the opening five races by Yamaha since 2006 when the Japanese manufacturer had 69 points after the French GP.

Cal Crutchlow finished in ninth place at Le Mans, becoming the first British rider to reach the milestone of 100 point-scoring races in the premier class.

With Takaaki Nakagami crashing out of the race in France, only six riders have scored points in all four of the MotoGP races in 2019: Danilo Petrucci, Alex Rins, Valentino Rossi, Andrea Dovizioso, Johann Zarco and Pol Espargaro.

Andrea Iannone qualified on pole in 2015 at Mugello riding a Ducati – his first pole in the MotoGP class. This was the first time that an Italian rider on an Italian bike had qualified on pole for a premier class Grand Prix in Italy since Giacomo Agostini was on pole for the 500cc GP at the Nations GP in Imola back in 1972.

With his 12th-place finish at Le Mans, Aleix Espargaro scored his 993rd point since the beginning of his career. In Mugello, he will be aiming to reach the milestone of 1000 points.

At the Italian GP, wildcard Michele Pirro is scheduled to make the 100th start of his Grand Prix career.

The only one of the four rookies in the MotoGP class this year to have previously won in any of the smaller classes in Mugello is Miguel Oliveira, who won in Moto3 back in 2015 – the first of his 12 GP wins so far – and in Moto2 last year.

Fabio Quartararo finished in eighth place in Le Mans behind his teammate Franco Morbidelli, setting the fastest lap of the race for the second time this year along with Qatar. He is still leading the fight for Rookie of the Year with 25 points followed by Francesco Bagnaia (9 points), Joan Mir (8) and Miguel Oliveira (8).

Share this story: