Qatar WorldSBK: Caricasulo bags vital WorldSSP pole

| | WorldSBK
Picture: GeeBee Images

Federico Caricasulo starts the decisive final race of the 2019 WorldSSP season from pole position after setting a lap 0.274 seconds faster than his own team-mate, and championship leader, Randy Krummenacher. Caricasulo has now taken four poles in 2019, one more than the next best rider, Krummenacher.

The only other rider with any chance of winning the 2019 title, Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) was eventually third fastest, setting up a stunning end of the season tussle in Saturday’s 15-lap WorldSSP race.

Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) placed fourth in Superpole, one place up on top Kawasaki rider, Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing). Mahias had been in second place for a time but his personal best lap was cut for exceeding the track limits, and he dropped back to fifth.

The final spot on the second row will go to Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), Mahias’ team-mate. The third straight Kawasaki rider in Tissot-Superpole qualifying was day one third place rider, Ayrton Badovini (Team Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) who was seventh.

Eighth fastest competitor on Friday, Isaac Vinales (Kallio Racing Yamaha) headed up Kyle Smith (Team Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) and Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing Yamaha).

Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was top MV Agusta rider, in 11th place.

Click here for times