Qatar WorldSBK: Krummenacher crowned WorldSSP champion - Bikesport News

Qatar WorldSBK: Krummenacher crowned WorldSSP champion

Picture: GeeBee Images

Swiss rider Randy Krummenacher did exactly what he needed to do to take the 2019 WorldSSP title, keeping team-mate Federico Caricasulo in sight despite the best effort of Corentin Perolari to spoil the party.

Krummenacher finished in fifth place and bagged the championship with seven points in hand and, on the cool-down lap, Caricasulo and his team-mate shook hands after a season where the two have not seen eye to eye.

It is the first time a Swiss rider has been taken the middleweight title, and there will be suitably regimented and scheduled celebrations in Zurich this evening.

Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) took his second race win of the season, at the floodlit Losail circuit, by passing early leader Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) and securing an eventual advantage of 0.868 seconds at the flag, but only after 15 tense laps. The final podium place was secured by Isaac Vinales (Kallio Racing Yamaha).

Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) was in the leading fight and looking on for a podium, but finished sixth the last rider in what was a loose second group towards the end as Krummenacher beat him to the line.

Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) caught Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) for seventh, with team-mates Kyle Smith (Team Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) and Ayrton Badovini (Team Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) rounding out the top ten.

Wildcard Brad Jones just missed out on a point, finishing in 16th.

In the final championship standings, Krummenacher has 213, Caricasulo 207, Cluzel 200 and Mahias 168.

Click here for results

Share this story: