Rea wins Race of the Year for Buildbase Suzuki

| | World News
Rea with Mallory legend John Cooper
Rea with Mallory legend John Cooper Picture: Impact Images

Buildbase Suzuki GSX-R1000Rs filled the podium positions in this year’s running of the Race of the Year at Mallory Park, with Gino Rea taking the win.

Completing the top three were Leon Jeacock and Tim Neave. The team was also joined by Charlie Nesbitt – making his litre bike debut – and Tom Oliver, both campaigning Buildbase Suzuki-prepared GSX-Rs. The pair finished fifth and eighth respectively.

The prestigious winners’ trophy for the Race of the Year is adorned with the names of motorcycling royalty, including Barry Sheene, Mike Hailwood, and Giacomo Agostini, with Rea now adding his name to the list.

“It was a really nice way to end the year. The Race of the Year is a historic and prestigious event with a lot of legends on the trophy, so it’s really nice to be able to add my name to that list,” said Rea.

“The team put a good bike together, so thanks again to them for their effort, and thanks to EMRA and Mallory Park for putting on a great event and a good day’s racing; it was a pleasure to be involved, and even better to take the win.”