Silverstone BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

| | British Superbikes
There's always one, Glenn Irwin...
There's always one, Glenn Irwin... Picture: Impact Images

Silverstone has held the opening round of the BSB season on four previous occasions – 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2016.

This year is the first time the reigning BSB champion hasn’t defended his crown since the beginning of 2016. Back then, Josh Brookes moved into the World Superbike Championship just as Leon Haslam has done this season.

Six different countries are represented in this year’s Championship – England, Northern Ireland, Spain, France, Australia and Italy.

Nine riders will make their BSB debuts at Silverstone this weekend – Scott Redding, Xavi Fores, Matt Truelove, Claudio Corti, David Allingham, Benjamin Currie, Ryan Vickers, Dean Hipwell and Sam Coventry.

Silverstone will be the first time that Scott Redding has ever competed in a British Championship race of any description.

The most experienced rider on the entry is Peter Hickman with 294 BSB race starts.

Luke Mossey will make his 100th BSB start in race two at Silverstone.

Glenn Irwin will make his 75th BSB race start in race one at Silverstone and Bradley Ray his 50th race start.

Josh Brookes (2015) is the only former BSB Champion on this year’s entry list.

There are 9 previous race winners in this year’s entry with a total of 69 wins between them – Josh Brookes (39), James Ellison (15), Peter Hickman (4), Tommy Bridewell (2), Luke Mossey (2), Dan Linfoot (2), Bradley Ray (2), Glenn Irwin (2) and Jason O’Halloran (1).

Silverstone has held a round of the British Superbike Championship every year since 1998.

The 44 BSB races previously held at Silverstone have seen 21 different winners and 35 different podium finishers.

Ryuichi Kiyonari is the most successful rider at Silverstone with six wins, followed by Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam (both 4) and Troy Bayliss, Shane Byrne, Michael Rutter and Alex Lowes (all 3).

Glenn Irwin and Dan Linfoot took their first ever BSB wins at Silverstone in September 2017.

Out of the 2019 field, only five riders have previously won BSB races at Silverstone – Josh Brookes (4), James Ellison (2) and Linfoot, Irwin and Peter Hickman (one each).

Double race wins have been taken at Silverstone by Troy Bayliss (1999), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2006 and 2007), Alex Lowes (2012), Josh Brookes (2015) and Leon Haslam (2018), the latter taking all three wins that were held that year.

Shane Byrne has taken the most BSB podiums at Silverstone (14) followed by Josh Brookes (14), Ryuichi Kiyonari (10), John Reynolds (9), Leon Haslam (7), Michael Rutter and Michael Laverty (both 6) and Chris Walker, Steve Hislop, Gregorio Lavilla and James Ellison (all 5).

Tarran Mackenzie claimed his first ever BSB podium at Silverstone last year.

Leon Haslam took the maximum number of points (75) last year with Glenn Irwin (49), Josh Brookes (43), Tarran Mackenzie (36), Jason O’Halloran (34) and Jake Dixon (27) the next highest points scorers.

Last year was the first time the National circuit had been used for a British Championship race.

With no Brands Indy circuit this year, the Silverstone National circuit is the second shortest circuit (1.64miles) on the 2019 BSB calendar.

It’s also the second fastest with the current lap record standing at 109.14mph (54.109s) and was set by Jake Dixon in race one last September.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Silverstone with 14 wins followed by Honda (12), Kawasaki (6), Yamaha and Suzuki (both 5) and BMW (2).

Kawasaki won all three of the races that were held at Silverstone in 2018.

Honda’s last win at Silverstone was in 2017 with Dan Linfoot.

Ducati last won a race at Silverstone in 2017 with Glenn Irwin.

The last win for Yamaha at Silverstone was also in 2017, with Josh Brookes.

BMW were last victorious at Silverstone in 2016 with Michael Laverty.

John Hopkins gave Suzuki their last win at Silverstone in 2011.