Thai WorldSBK: Ten top facts for this weekend

Picture: GeeBee Images

1. All the eight races run so far in Buriram have been won by British riders, six by Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing), one by Tom Sykes (BMW Motorrad ) and one by Chaz Davies (Aruba Ducati).

2. In Buriram, Alvaro Bautista (Aruba Ducati) is in the position to become the first rookie with a string of three wins in his first three races in WorldSBK (sprint race not counting).

3. Leon Haslam (Kawasaki Racing) is set for his 220th WorldSBK race at Chang International Circuit (Race One): he is the seventh rider to reach this goal and his next target is Aaron Slight at 229 starts in the series.

4. Rea has always qualified on the front row in Buriram, as he took three poles and a third in 2016.

5. Rea has never finished lower than fourth here, winning six times out of eight: his only race outside the podium was the second one last year (fourth).

6. Chang International Circuit is one of the two tracks on the current calendar where Sykes has not recorded pole, the other being San Juan where WorldSBK raced only last year.

7. Chang International Circuit is the only track on the current calendar where Ducati has not claimed pole position in qualifying.

8. Chang International Circuit is one of the two tracks in the current calendar where an Italian rider has never won, the other being San Juan.

9. Kawasaki’s podium tally here, 12, is exactly the sum of their rivals (Ducati 6, Aprilia and Yamaha 2, Suzuki and Honda 1).

10. Last year the pole position was decided by only 0.003 seconds. The gap separating Sykes from poleman Rea is the fourth smallest margin for a pole after Kyalami 2009, 0.001 (Spies/Fabrizio); Algarve 2013, 0.001 (Sykes/Laverty); Sugo 1997, 0.002 (Yanagawa/Yoshikawa).

Share this story: