Thruxton BSB: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

| | British Superbikes
Hickman and Brookes are Thruxton podium men
Hickman and Brookes are Thruxton podium men Picture: Impact Images

Statistics, facts and pub ammo for the Thruxton Bennetts British Superbike round:

Thruxton has held a round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996, a total of 46 races.

The 46 races have seen 20 different race winners and 38 different riders stand on the podium.

With a current lap record of 113.46mph, Thruxton is the fastest circuit in use on the BSB calendar.

The results at the previous round at Snetterton mean Peter Hickman is now the only rider to score points in every race held so far in 2019.

Tommy Bridewell took his 29th career BSB podium at Snetterton to go level with Stuart Easton on the all-time list.

Thruxton was one of only two rounds where Danny Buchan failed to score a point in 2018.

Shane Byrne and Josh Brookes have the record number of wins at Thruxton with 8 followed by Niall Mackenzie (5), Gregorio Lavilla (4) and James Haydon, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Leon Camier and Michael Laverty (all 2).

Josh Brookes’ first ever BSB victory came at Thruxton, in 2010.

Josh Brookes scored four consecutive wins at Thruxton in 2014 and 2015 and has won six of his last eight races at the venue, all on Yamaha machinery.

Shane Byrne has the most number of podiums (15) followed by Josh Brookes (12), Michael Rutter (11), Gregorio Lavilla, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Steve Hislop (all 7) and Niall Mackenzie (6).

Peter Hickman’s first BSB podium came at Thruxton in 2011 when riding the Tyco Honda and he’s taken more podiums at the Hampshire venue (five) than any other BSB circuit.

Hickman has finished on the podium in the last four races at Thruxton (first and second in 2017 and second and third in 2018).

Leon Haslam and Josh Brookes scored the most points at last year’s meeting (38) followed by Jake Dixon and Peter Hickman (both 36), Jason O’Halloran (20) and Glenn Irwin and Tarran Mackenzie (both 18).

Luke Mossey took his first ever BSB podium at Thruxton in 2015 with Glenn Irwin achieving the same landmark in 2016.

The double victory has been achieved at Thruxton on ten occasions, the riders being Niall Mackenzie (1997 & 1998), Shane Byrne (2003 & 2012), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2005), Gregorio Lavilla (2006 & 2007), Leon Camier (2009) and Josh Brookes (2014 & 2015).

The current lap record was set in race one in 2016 with Shane Byrne lapping at 1m14.753s, 113.46mph.

The fastest ever lap at Thruxton was set by Shane Byrne, also in 2016, with a lap in Q2 of 1m13.843s, the only time a rider has dipped below 1m14s.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Thruxton with 17 wins followed by Yamaha (14), Honda (7), Suzuki and Kawasaki (both 3) and BMW (2).

Yamaha (Brookes) and Kawasaki (Leon Haslam) both won races in 2018.

BMW’s last race victory at Thruxton came in 2017 with Peter Hickman.

Ducati’s last win at Thruxton was in 2016 with Shane Byrne.

Suzuki’s last win came in 2012 with Josh Brookes.

Honda’s last win at Thruxton was also in 2012 when Ian Lowry won on the Padgetts-backed machine. It was the Ulsterman’s only BSB win.