WorldSBK Jerez: Aegerter returns to WorldSSP in winning form

| | WorldSBK
Picture: GeeBee Images

Ten Kate Yamaha’s Dominique Aegerter returned to WorldSSP competition by dominating Sunday’s sole Spanish race at Jerez on Sunday.

Championship leader Aegerter launched from second on the front row as he returned from MotoE duties, instantly stealing the holeshot as he took control of the 17-lap race. The Yamaha breaking free and carving out a half second lead by the end of the opening lap over pole-man Philipp Oettl.

Manuel Gonzales (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) clung on to third as the race unfolded with the local rider defending hard from title challenger Steven Odendaal (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha) in fourth.

The South African’s job got harder at the final corner as the second lap concluded, running wide and returning to the race in ninth, behind Stefano Manzi, Raffaele do Rosa and Federico Caricasulo.

Niki Tuuli and Can Öncü were the next to battle, for fourth, as the race unfolded, the MV Agusta getting the better of the Kawasaki man and immediately breaking the hold.

Aegerter won by almost 10 seconds after a start-to-finish display of pace and determination that saw him run 62 points clear in the World Championship. Kawasaki Puccetti’s Oettl was second, 0.6 seconds ahead of Tuuli.

The first off-podium rider proved to be Gonzalez having a solo ride at the end.

Caricasulo (Biblion Iberian Yamaha Motoxracing) placed fifth, ahead of an all Kawasaki battle between Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) and De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura Kawasaki).

With Odendaal only managing eighth ahead of GMT94 Yamaha’ s stand-in rider Manzi.

The top 10 was completed by comeback rider, after a recent head injury, Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha).

Randy Krummenacher (CM Racing Yamaha) crashing out of the race in the closing stages as he tussled with Manzi.

Click here for times