Oulton BSB: Law takes dramatic maiden Stock 1000 win

Law is now a race winner in Stock 1000, Stock 600 and Supersport
Law is now a race winner in Stock 1000, Stock 600 and Supersport

Stauff Connect Kawasaki’s Mason Law bagged his first Pirelli National Superstock 1000 win in a dramatic, red-flagged, 50 mile race.

The first part in dry conditions saw championship leader Richard Cooper break clear with Danny Buchan and Adam Jenkinson. However, the leading trio was reduced to just one when Mancunian Jenkinson collided with the diminutive Cooper on the run into the Shell Oils Hairpin.

With Buchan upwards of five seconds clear, the rain started to fall lightly and the red flag was brought out as a result to the frustration of the race leader.

The restart was declared wet but Ian Hutchinson and Fraser Rogers were the only men on the grid to gamble with dry tyres.

The gamble appeared to be paying off with Rogers leading after a couple of laps and Hutchinson sat in behind him but then the heavens opened up.

Rogers and Hutchinson dropped backwards and out of contention, meanwhile Buchan came down pitlane with an undiscoverable issue, meaning he couldn’t take advantage of the title chase leader Cooper being on the deck.

The lead was held by Floridian James Rispoli in the closing stages but disaster struck for the American as he tucked the front on the run into Druids crashing out of a comfortable lead.

This allowed Law, in his debut year of the championship, to hit the front and eventually take the chequered flag over five seconds clear.

The fight for the final podium places behind went down to the final corner, with Geordie Chrissy Rouse grabbing his first podium in second, veteran Michael Rutter taking third and a disconsolate Luke Hedger having to settle for a third straight fourth place.

Briggs Equipment Kawasaki’s Jordan Weaving fought back from the back of the grid at the start of the race to take a superb fifth place, coming home well clear of Tom Tunstall and Dean Hipwell in sixth and seventh.

Rounding out the top ten were Barry Teasdale, Matej Smrz and Ashley Buxton.

Click here for results

Share this story:

Add your comment